Banking information needed.

Mar 31st, 2008, 11:10 PM
Original Poster

Banking information needed.

DD and SIL are moving to the US from NZ end of May. They want to transfer some money from NZ to the US before they leave The rate is dropping. Obviously they need a US bank account to do this. Can they do this while they are still living in NZ?

I have read two conflicting articles on the internet, one says you need a Social Security number to open an account, the other said you only need a SSN if you're wanting a credit card.

If they waited until they got to the US to open an account how long would it take for them to open a checking account for example?

Finally any bank recommendations, ie low fees etc.

Thanks for your input
Mar 31st, 2008, 11:23 PM

Hello Nelsonian, I am not an expert but I do know that if one wants to open a bank account, even a simple checking account at at bank in the US, one needs either a social security number or a Tax ID number.

I have no idea if your DD and SIL can obtain a bank account in the US while they are still in NZ. But I would think they probably could not do so although I am not certain.

From what I know (having a son-in-law who came here from Rome) I believe that your daughter and son-in-law would need to go to the nearest social security office and obtain their SSN's..and they could than open up an account at the bank of their choice. As far as fees etc., they could talk to various banks and see which bank would suit their purposes.

Apr 1st, 2008, 12:57 AM

You do not need a SS# to open a bank account. The Patriot Act requires that the ID of the person opening the account be verified. This can be done with a passport. I know this only because a couple of years ago we had 2 foreign students on J1 visas who worked for us during the summer. They opened checking accounts so they could cash their pay checks, pay their bills, etc.

Your best bet would be to contact a bank in the area where they are moving.