Atlanta Priceline Help

Jan 5th, 2005, 09:38 PM
Original Poster

Atlanta Priceline Help

Dear Dad (and other Fodorites who visit Atlanta more often),

I wanted to stay in a high-rise hotel, and living so close to a big city, it seems the obvious choice is a getaway in ritzy Hotlanta.

The four star hotels in Buckhead and downtown are GORGEOUS but way out of my budget. Mom suggested priceline (so long as I asked for help from you).

Has anyone bidded in these neighborhoods on priceline before? How much did you bid? What did you get? I'm a terrified of making a mistake on priceline but also super intrigued by the idea of staying in a place that I otherwise could never afford. But I don't know... I've never done this before.

(Some details: we've only got 2 people and any bed arrangement works and I can handle a smoking room if necessary, I just would like to stay in a hotel with more than 4 floors, even if I'm on the 2nd floor, since they don't have those in the county I live in in South Carolina)

Thanks in advance for all help,
Kelsey

Jan 5th, 2005, 10:33 PM

Go to biddingfortravel.com, there you will find all the information you will need. If you fill out a bid assistance form (located in the hotel FAQ) the moderators will help you. Be sure to understand the concept of free rebidding, it is the most mportant piece of info when using Priceline. Good luck
Jan 6th, 2005, 03:14 AM
iceeu2

Definitely go to biddingfortravel.com
You will likely get the Grand Hyatt or JW Marriott. Depending on your dates and their rates at the time, I have seen people get them for as $60/night. Have fun...lots of great dining in that area also.

Jan 6th, 2005, 04:24 AM
rex

Kelsey:

(to others reading this, yes, I am Kelsey's dad) - - even though I have already replied to your e-mail to me, late last night, and will probably talk to you by phone this morning - - there is some additional info that might influence the advice that others have to give.