Anyone LIVE near PHL?

Search

Anyone LIVE near PHL?

Search this Thread

Old Jan 13th, 2009, 05:05 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Anyone LIVE near PHL?

I am headed to PHL on Thursday and scheduled to drive to the King of Prussia area right smack in the middle of rush hour, 530pm.
I see all the forecasts say snow on Thursday but I am not sure what that means by PA standards.
Snow in the forecast in Texas means a winter advisory and mayhem on the freeways.
Can someone there tell me what it means in PA?
I am an experienced driver who has driven in Colorado in the winter... from DEN to Vail a few times.
I think I would prefer an airport shuttle to the hotel and a cab back to the a/p but my boss insists we drive. Ugh, that's a man for you... and he's from Canada to make matters worse!
Old Jan 13th, 2009, 05:29 PM
J62

The current forecast calls for snow showers. That means no accumulation is expected. You'll see fluffy stuff floating around in the air, but not enough to affect road surfaces, let alone a busy highway.

These things have a way of changing though, so be sure to watch the weather. The deep cold enroute makes a real snowstorm in the East less likely.

Here's my rough assessment. If it starts to say 1" or so accumulation expected during the day you'd still be fine - that will just be blown out of the way by traffic. It's when they call for 2" or more right around the time you're driving that it'll slow down traffic. 2-4" and it's time to stay off the roads during the height of the snowfall. It also matters what the snowfall rate is, not just the total. If it's slow then crews will be able to stay ahead of it.

Reading the current PHL forecast for Thu I wouldn't even blink an eyelash myself, but do keep an eye on it.
Old Jan 13th, 2009, 05:37 PM

Hi,

I live 10 minutes from King of Prussia and yes the traffic will be awful BUT it looks the weather will be fine. I'm not aware of any snow coming and I would since I work at a supermarket!!!