Reload this Page >

Advice from DC residents

Search

Advice from DC residents

Search this Thread

Old Apr 16th, 2002, 01:17 PM
beth

Advice from DC residents

I'm considering moving to DC amongst other popular cities. I am a professional female in my mid twenties, and concerned about safety, rental pricing, single scene? Would I need a car in this city? I've heard that DC is a bit over-rated for what it is. Where do most of the young professionals live?

Old Apr 16th, 2002, 01:56 PM
arlingtonian

It all depends on how much money you have to spend on rent. I live in Arlington, not anywhere near a metro stop, so I can either take the bus or drive into the district. The result is a nice apartment for half of what it would cost me in the district or somewhere within walking distance of the metro.

Single scene here is limited to happy hours. Not very impressive.

Old Apr 16th, 2002, 03:21 PM
beth

If I decide to move to DC I would want to live in the district. I do not want to live in plastic suburbia.

Old Apr 16th, 2002, 03:56 PM
all

Well, pardon us. We didn't know you were such a swinger and only wanted to be with the in-crowd. You pompous twit!

Old Apr 16th, 2002, 04:53 PM
beth

I grew up in suburbian parts of southeast Va. I didn't like it at all. It was miserable for me. I just want to find a city in which I would be able to meet more people with my common interest. If you don't like my questions, don't answer them. Thanks.

Old Apr 16th, 2002, 05:09 PM
Alex

beth , all the other respondents were trying to say is that you could be more diplomatic. You could have focused on the positive, saying that you wanted to find a place within the district, close to work, shopping, restaurants, museums etc. Instead, you knock places you know nothing about (e.g. Arlington) and rail on about "plastic suburbia".
I believe your source of info here has dried up, for now

Old Apr 16th, 2002, 09:20 PM
beth