Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > United States
Reload this Page >

A reputable website for renting a cottage on the beach?

Search

Search this Thread

Old May 16th, 2005, 05:11 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I googled for "cottage rental beach Cape Cod" and di the same for various places in Maine, and there are so many sites that want to rent me their places. As such, I'm reluctant to pick any one and trust whoever is on the other side with my credit card.

Anyone have good luck with a website for renting a place on the beach?

Old May 16th, 2005, 06:25 AM

Did you look at vrbo.com? I went that route for an upcoming trip to Kailua, Oahu. I've never used it before, but many on this forum have recommended it. Do a search here to see what others have said.
Old May 16th, 2005, 06:28 AM

Although I use local rental agents for places I go frequently, I have also used vrbo.com all over the US as well as Europe & never had a problem.
Old May 16th, 2005, 07:19 AM

On Cape Cod, try Compass Realtors or Cape Cod Realty -- two local companies that have worked well for us.
Old May 16th, 2005, 09:02 AM

Depends on what part of the Cape you wish to go. Rentals are very regional-ie: if you want to rent in Wellfleet oe Truro, pck a rental office in that area. Orleans, Brewster, the same. Most are very reputable. When you see things you like osn the website, then call the office and ask to speak with the rental agent. She can tell you what is available during the time period you wish, how far from the beach, etc.
Old May 16th, 2005, 09:48 AM

We've used www.cyberrentals.com twice and had good luck.
Old May 16th, 2005, 11:28 AM