Travel Safety Advice for a Backpacker

May 12th, 2012, 09:21 PM
Original Poster

Travel Safety Advice for a Backpacker

What advice can you give me to stay safe and avoid being taken. Keep in mind this is my first time traveling around the world for a extended period of time and backpacking, previously I used luggage and shorter trips... I don't think you have to worry so much when you stay in nice hotels, use cabs, and have the money to do safer more leisurely activities.

[some safety steps]
-I plan on carrying a backpack with nothing of value and a messenger bag
- I will have pockets sewn into my pants for emergency (instead of a money belt)
- I have a fake slim wallet with some cards for my front pocket
- I have travel insurance
- Copies of all my stuff and email backups
- get a cheap doorstop
- get a retractable cable lock
- walk with purpose even when lost, and find a alley or private place to read your map
- Carry a fake wallet with that days cash and some cards, if mugged they can have it

IF I have a private room in a hostel do I have to lock up my laptop if I go take a shower? Should I have the hotel put my laptop in their safe or use the lockers?

What can I do to avoid robberies at train stations as they seem to be hotbeds. What does one do on a train to avoid having their bag snatched. I have heard many say put a strap around something but how do you do this if you have a 65L backpack? Where is there areas to attach things trains I have been on do not have these or everyone stuffs their bags in one spot by the door.

What do you think about those mesh cover backpack cable things?

If you have a backpack on 65L your screaming tourist and I have items on me (obviously you wouldn't have this if it was at the hostel) what advice can you give to keep your stuff safe when you first arrive at a train station and may have to walk through a crowd? How safe are luggage storage at a hostel? How safe are lockers at a train station and can they fit a 65L backpack?