Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Travel Topics > Travel Tips & Trip Ideas
Reload this Page >

Solo student to Italy in May--Tips and Suggestions???

Search

Search this Thread

Old Dec 30th, 2007, 08:39 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Hi everyone. I am currently studying/working in Paris and would like to bum around a little more before I leave to go back home. I know I really really want to go to Italy after school gets out, but I have no clue where to start (esp. since I can't buy train tickets yet!). The only thing I really want to see is the Cinqueterre; other than that, I'm really open. Does anyone have any tips/advice for a young student going to Italy?
Also, I have an April vacation where I'd like to go somewhere: everyone raves about Brugges. What do you guys think? Could I combine with other cities? Is it odd if you don't speak Flemish? (I do speak French.)
Budget would be, er, low, but I don't really like hostels. Did it in London--OK, but I prefer a hotel.
Also, is Rome as teeming with pickpockets as many people say?
OK, I'll stop now!
Old Jan 1st, 2008, 12:31 PM
Original Poster

Just hoping someone will p/u on this ...
Old Jan 1st, 2008, 12:36 PM
Original Poster

Oop, I just realized I never said how much time I had. Actually, for Italy it's quite open. I'm saving euros now for this trip! I'm thinking that the # of things I want to see will determine how long I take.

List of possibilities:
Cinqueterre
Venice
Florence
Rome
Naples

Old Jan 1st, 2008, 02:34 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
If I were still a student (long time ago, lol) I'd be more inclined to go to Amsterdam than Bruges, although Bruges would be cheaper.

Yes, pickpockets are active in Rome. Wear a money belt.

Have you read a guidebook on Italy? Maybe Lonely Planet or Lets Go? Venice is lovely, but VERY expensive.
Old Jan 12th, 2008, 09:13 PM