Search

Need packing tips: 24 days in Japan

Search this Thread

Old Nov 20th, 2014, 03:43 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Need packing tips: 24 days in Japan

Hey guys and girls,

In April 2015 I´m going for my first trip to Japan. I'm a 30 y/o male from Brazil.
Here we are used to the warm weather, but I can withstand some low temperatures.

I've read temperatures in Japan during April range from 11C-18C, what I find perfectly OK. I could survive that without any kind of heavy coat.

As I'm not an expert traveller, I always tend to throw everything I use in my bag and pack. This time I would like to avoid unnecessary itens.

So, for a 21 net days, what should I pack? What would be a good suitcase size?

Eg: Type of clothes, number of shirts/pants/shoes etc.

Thanks in advance.
Old Nov 20th, 2014, 08:21 AM

Use the 'Rule of 3s' for items where you normally carry multiples. ie. t-shirts, shirts, pants, underwear, socks.

One to wash, one to wear, one to spare. No one NEEDS more than that but a lot of people THINK they do.
Old Nov 20th, 2014, 08:46 AM

That's a good rule!

Try to get by with two pairs of shoes, one on your feet and one in your bag, both of which will go with everything you have to wear.

And choose clothes you can layer, for cooler temps; and clothes that you can mix and match, so everything goes with everything else.

You are smart to work on packing light! It seems so hard to do, but if you succeed, your trip will be so much more relaxing.
Old Nov 20th, 2014, 01:49 PM

Received 12 Likes on 11 Posts
I would pick your suitcase and then pack to that size. A 19-21" if you want to carry-on. A 22-24" if you want to check it in. Wear your bulkiest clothes/shoes/coat on the plane.
Old Nov 20th, 2014, 02:33 PM

Pick your WEIGHT you are willing to carry and THEN see how big a bag you need to carry what it is made up of. Do NOT pick a bag first and then fill it.

Truly lightweight is 7kg or less including the weight of the bag itself.