Kodak Gallery makes me want to vent ...

Jan 10th, 2008, 02:40 PM
Original Poster
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 662
Kodak Gallery makes me want to vent ...

Absolutely the worst customer service experience of my life. Having used Kodak Gallery and its services for dozens of orders since its inception as ofoto, Kodak has ruined the products, prints, and customer service.

I ordered two photo books (which I've been making on the site for years) in December and both arrived with serious flaws - photos missing or off center so only part of the photo showed, and one book was sliced through the leather cover.

After the first photo book arrived damaged, customer service assured me that it was a fluke and that I should order another book and return the first one. So, I ordered another after carefully checking all the pages and photos online.

Well, the second book arrived and had more flaws than the first (though the cover wasn't slashed through). I called customer service and the nice woman on the phone did some fact-checking and found that Kodak Gallery knew about an online software glitch that had been going on for weeks. The site posted no warning and was soliciting more photo book orders by sending out coupons every few days.

So, Kodak Gallery knowingly sold flawed product for weeks. Now, I still haven't seen refunds after nearly two months of dealing with this ridiculousness. AND, Kodak Gallery won't refund my shipping charges. I just spoke with a SUPERVISOR and he told me that no money is refunded for shipping even if an item is damaged or (as in this case) was knowingly sent even though it was defective. The supervisor repeatedly told that even though the whole problem with both orders was Kodak Gallery's fault (yes, they've all admitted that), that they will never give me back my shipping costs because the items arrived on time. He even said that was the case if the box arrived empty. He did offer me a $5.00 shipping credit on future orders (my shipping for the two orders was more than $30.00).

Ridiculous. After turning literally every friend and family member on to Kodak Gallery and spending $1,000's there myself (and have touted them here), I will never, ever shop on that site again.

In addition, they switched the printers that they outsource to and the quality has gone way downhill pixilated skies, poor quality paper, etc.).

What a shame.

Thank you ... I just had to vent. Tried so hard to be nice with the customer service people on the phone and through email, but this has been a pain in my rear since November. I would let it go, but it's nearly $300.
Chicago_Heather is offline  
Jan 10th, 2008, 03:27 PM
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 266
Sorry to hear about your experience - I have thought about ordering from Kodak Gallery in the past but your story gives me pause. Did you pay by credit card? If you still haven't seen the refunds for the books+shipping several months later, I'd say its time to call your CC company and see if you can contest the charge. They'll then sort things out with Kodak.
hlg22 is offline  
Jan 10th, 2008, 03:31 PM
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 4,408
A timely post, since I've just finished working on a photo book there and was getting ready to order it.

Pls post back and let us know how this turns out. Thanks.
321go is offline  
Jan 10th, 2008, 03:34 PM
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 45,322
Hi Chicago_Heather, how frustrating and what a waste of money!

I too was thinking while reading your posts that you no doubt paid for this via a credit card. And so going along with hlg's thoughts do call your credit card company. I have only had to do this twice when I have had very poor service or no service at all and in both instances my credit card co. immediately credited my account and debited the merchant's account.

Let us know how this gets resolved! And you have every right to vent!
LoveItaly is offline  
Jan 10th, 2008, 06:57 PM
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 1,403
I don't blame you for venting. I have used them without a problem for regular photos and items without an issue but this gives me pause...

Whenever someone posts a issue like this on this website about terrible service or products, I always wonder if they would change their response if they got a copy of the posts and saw how quickly bad news travels...

And.. how foolish to alienate a Fodorite... big mistake...
chicagolori is offline  
Jan 10th, 2008, 08:26 PM
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 3,849
Sorry to hear of your troubles.

My sis has ordered from them before & made very nice books. That was a couple years ago though.

I chose snapfish, because I thought they had more choices of covers & page selections.
I have been satisfied with the three I've received. However, I've never tried to recover the costs of one of theirs.

I'm not sure your cc company will assist if your costs were under $100? But, it wouldn't hurt to call & see.

Thanks for the warning.

olesouthernbelle is offline  
Jan 10th, 2008, 08:28 PM
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 10,190
If you paid through Paypal, you can file a dispute through them - it takes a few weeks, but it works.

If you paid directly through a credit card, you can file a dispute with them.

I would also write a letter of complaint stating that you expect to be fully refunded in cash of the entire cost including shipping.

If anyone is looking to print a book, I've used mypublisher.com and they did a very nice job. A co-worker had books made of his wedding photos to give his wife and her parents for their first Christmas together - they were also very happy.
toedtoes is offline  
Jan 11th, 2008, 07:14 AM
Original Poster
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 662
Thanks for the sympathetic posts ... I felt like an a** for posting (not one to complain).

However, it's a bit of a warning, because the other books they've produced were great. Since my last book order, they switched the paper to a thinner, glossier variety. It's so shiny that when a friend I showed it to literally couldn't tell what the photo was (and that was in dim lighting). And, the colors were atrocious and most of the sky photos had weird giant squares (mega-pixels, ha!).

I'm calling BOA today to see about protesting the charges. Thanks, again, for "listening" and I'll post the results later.

And, on a much happier note (which I prfer) ... a friend suggested Shutterfly. Their book-making options were much better - tons more options for layouts, fonts, backgrounds, etc. - and the final product was OUTSTANDING. The colors were beautiful and the 12"x12" books are hardbound with photos incorporated. Really, really amazing.
Chicago_Heather is offline  
Jan 11th, 2008, 07:35 AM
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 6,492
HI Chicago_Heather:
Thanks for the warning. I think the whole Kodak Gallery site is going downhill. I always used the gallery to share photos with others online, in trip reports, etc. But after our Morocco trip in November, I noticed how terrible the uploaded pics are (they look low res) so I stopped. I, too, now use Shutterfly and really like them!
schlegal1 is offline  
Jun 19th, 2009, 07:28 AM
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 1
Horrible experience with Kodak, Extremely upset with service.
1. By default all pictures you upload are zoomed in an d cropped at the photogallery.
2. Does not warn you where you can change the zoomed in and cropped pictures until your order is placed
3. cannot change your order once it's placed, even if it was placed 2 minutes before the request
4. chat agents are condescending (showing or implying a usually patronizing descent from dignity or superiority)
5. no time frame of when it will be ready for in store pickup in Canada
6. if you get the chance to talk with Matt T, online chat. He simply is the worst peson working there, in terms of being rude and unwilling to help.

Ordering pictures at KODAK..... NEVER AGAIN
TheManWithMotive is offline  
Related Topics
Original Poster
Last Post
Aug 13th, 2013 10:46 AM
Dec 11th, 2011 07:53 AM
Aug 12th, 2008 10:15 AM
Dec 27th, 2004 07:11 AM
Jul 11th, 2003 08:18 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are On

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy -


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 04:04 PM.