How long of a layover in Lima?

Old Jun 9th, 2016, 06:11 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
How long of a layover in Lima?

I am deciding on flights for a trip in November. I'll be wrapping up a 4 day trek on the Inca Trail on November 22nd. I am trying to decide on which Cusco-Lima flight to catch on November 23rd in order to catch an 11:30 p.m. int'l departure out of Lima. My preference is to take a flight late in the day on the 23rd (something around a 6 p.m. departure) so that I can have another day to explore Cusco. But I've read alot regarding reliability of Cusco-Lima flights and wonder if I should instead take an early flight (something around 10 a.m.) instead and try to do a guided tour of Lima during my layover. I'd rather have the time in Cusco and save Lima for another time, but would appreciate advice!
Old Jun 9th, 2016, 08:35 AM

I'm not an expert on this but did some research before we made a similar decision for May trip to Perú; Cusco is a fair weather airport and is really prone to delays. We decided that a 5-6 hour layover in Lima would account for delays but not cancellations and decided that was enough for us. However, that was May when weather patterns tend to be dry with limited wind. You are going in November which has a whole different weather profile. You can look at averages here:
https://weatherspark.com/averages/33654/Cusco-Peru
Old Jun 9th, 2016, 11:34 AM

When will you be back in Cusco? I hope you are not trying to get all the way from Aguas Calientes to Lima on the day of your international flight.

I would take the earliest possible flight that you can reasonably make, due to the chance of delays and even cancellations. If even one flight is cancelled, it can overfill all of the other flights. Although November wouldn't normally be high season, you are around the US holidays so I'm not sure you would be put on the next flight (only the 'next available').