ATMs in Peru - best bet?

Search

ATMs in Peru - best bet?

Search this Thread

Old Jun 22nd, 2010, 01:42 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
ATMs in Peru - best bet?

I'm leaving for Peru (Cuzco/Sacred Valley/ Machu Picchu) in two weeks. I''m getting excited and I appreciate all the good advice you all have given me so far. I am planning to bring some cash w/ me, and credit card, but assuming that my ATM card will be the best way to get cash while on the trip. I'm basing this on how I travel in other parts of the world, but this is my first time to Peru, so any feedback would be appreciated.
Thanks!
Old Jun 22nd, 2010, 03:50 PM

I didn't have any issue getting money out of the ATM when I was in Peru last year. It was convenient for me and fast. The only minor problem was that the ATM at the Hotel Sauce in Ollanty, where I stayed for 2 nights, didn't accept my card but luckily the machine in the Plaza de Armas did. I had no problem with ATMs in Cusco, Aguas Calientes, and Arequipa. Remember to notify your bank before you leave about using your card in Peru.
Old Jun 23rd, 2010, 12:18 AM

We spent 6 weeks in Peru and had no real problems with ATMs except those created by my own bank. The system in Peru seemed to work much better than the ATMs in either Chile or Argentina. An advantage of the Peruvian system is that you usually have a choice of New Soles of US$ which can be handy if you are travelling on to other countries. Axel2DP says make sure you notify your bank in advance of where you are travelling (Although in my case this did absolutely no good whatsover!!)

If you can take an extra card on another bank account or buy a pre loaded travel money card (most have better FX rates and lower charges than normal ATM cards - at least they do in the UK).
Do keep your wits about you in central Cusco as there are often reports of thefts/pickpockets at or near teh ATMs particularly around the Plaza de Armas.
Old Jun 23rd, 2010, 09:01 AM
Original Poster