Study Abroad

Old Nov 30th, 2022, 02:18 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Study Abroad

Hey all,

I am currently a college Sophomore and I am applying to study abroad next year. I am having trouble deciding where I want to go, because everywhere seems like it could be a unique experience. Right now I'm thinking Copenhagen could be fun but I have heard it is very expensive. Compared to a city like Florence, does anyone know how much it would be extra per month, or a rough estimate? Through the things I have read, it seems like it isn't too much more expensive, but then again I have heard otherwise from friends and family. Please let me know!
Old Nov 30th, 2022, 04:01 PM

Received 4 Likes on 3 Posts
You should be able to get information from the study abroad organization/s on anticipated living costs. Some expenses depend on any travel you intend or hope to do, where you'd go, how you'd go (bus, train, plane), etc. You could look into air fares, train passes.

Outside of costs, are the programs in Copenhagen and Florence equally appealing and/or relevant to your major?
Old Nov 30th, 2022, 04:05 PM

Received 22 Likes on 4 Posts
Are these programs run through your college or university? They should be able to give estimated living expenses.
Old Nov 30th, 2022, 08:03 PM

Do you know Numbeo? It's a cost of living comparison website, very entertaining. Here there are comparisons with Copenhagen and my city (Sydney), but you can adjust it to something that's more meaningful for you:
https://www.numbeo.com/cost-of-living/in/Copenhagen

Lavandula
Old Dec 1st, 2022, 10:31 AM

I think you need to explain your base expenses for people to compare. some idea of what you are talking about. The school costs are obvioulsy fixed by the school, so they have to tell you that. I would presume they also arrange or have housing and that should be a known cost.