Best Home Exchange Website for London?

Search

Search this Thread

Old May 7th, 2015, 05:06 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

We are planning to spend the month of May next year in London. (We did this in Venice in autumn 2013 and decided to make a habit of month-long stays in cities we love.) I just booked the outbound flight today with Avios ( thank you, BA) and will book the return when the flights are released. In the meantime, my husband asked about the possibility of doing a home exchange instead of renting a flat. Maybe not for the full month; perhaps two weeks would be easier? We have a lovely home in a nice neighborhood in the Seattle area that should be attractive to a family or couple wishing to spend time in the Pacific Northwest.

I am new to the idea of home exchange and would like to know which websites are most reliable and productive. I understand there may be a membership fee to list our home and we are fine with that.

I would love to hear tales of successful home exchange, and tips on the do's and dont's and pitfalls. Friends of ours exchanged with two sisters from the UK, one of whom claimed to be a teetotaler, and came home to find their good vodka replaced with water in the bottle. . . They probably trusted too much. We will not leave much at all in the liquor cabinet, but we cannot lock our wine cellar.

Should we include access to our car? Assuming our insurance company is OK with that. Somehow I feel like UK drivers are very competent and we need not be concerned. We would not want access to theirs.
Old May 7th, 2015, 11:23 PM

We have been members of Intervac for around 12 years, and have had around 15 home exchanges in that time. No major dramas; just a couple of 'interesting' experiences - but that's to be expected, when you're in a foreign place.

I only correspond with people who are fluent in English (my only language) - I figure there's enough little traps without communication skills adding to the mix.