Search

Which of these locations?

Search this Thread

Old Jan 17th, 2015, 07:34 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Which of these locations?

Each year I can be off work for one week for continuing education. (I'm a nurse.) I'd like to use this time to work on my Spanish. However, there are only a few Spanish language schools that offer continuing education for nurses. Two are in Costa Rica (Arenal and Turrialba) and three are in Mexico (one in Veracruz and two in Cuernavaca). All else being equal, which of these locations would you recommend? Thanks for the help
Old Jan 18th, 2015, 07:40 AM

Received 12 Likes on 11 Posts
Shanti, This is absolutely off the top of my head with no personal experience (other than reading Mexico travel forums obsessively!) people don't seem all that fond of Veracruz.
Old Jan 18th, 2015, 08:08 AM

Received 2 Likes on 1 Post
I have only been to Arenal for fun. It has a lot to offer in hiking, zip lines, hot springs, wildlife. At the foot of the volcano.
Old Jan 18th, 2015, 09:29 AM

My daughter has done programs in Costa Rica, and is fluent in Spanish. She said it gave her the best background and accent. I highly recommend Costa Rica.
Old Jan 19th, 2015, 07:25 AM
Original Poster

Thanks for the feedback. Costa Rica has been on my wish list for a long time.
Old Jan 22nd, 2015, 09:31 PM

Are you looking at CPI School in CR? Great programs there. IMAC in Mexico is another. . .many locaions.
Old Jan 23rd, 2015, 01:08 AM

Are you specifically needing university credit or are you just looking for a program that focuses on medical Spanish? Nearly every Spanish school I have attended in Honduras and Guatemala offers programs for medical personnel and instruction is nearly always 1-on-1 and much less expensive than in Mexico and Costa Rica, especially in Guatemala.
Old Jan 23rd, 2015, 04:05 AM