Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > Mexico & Central America
Reload this Page >

What are some must see destinations and must do activities in Costa Rica?

Search

Search this Thread

Old Oct 12th, 2007, 05:30 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

This is my first time going there, so I would really appreciate some inside scoop and general advice. I will be going there in late February. Thanks to everyone in advance.
Old Oct 12th, 2007, 06:30 PM

Let's see, we've been to Arenal, Manuel Antonio, the Peace Lodge, and the Osa Peninsula - these are probably some of the most popular spots for a first-timer to visit. Do you have an idea of what you'd like to do? Are you a volcano person, or a beach person, or interested in seeing wildlife or waterfalls? My advice is to pick a couple of spots that interest you and not try to see it all in one trip. It can take quite a while to get from destination to destination.

Peace Lodge is a great spot for a night or two - pretty posh with five waterfalls you can hike to.

Arenal has the active volcano, which is really amazing to see, the Cano Negro river boat tour where you'll see howlers, capuchins, sloths, and birds, also ziplines like SkyTrek, and natural hot springs like Tabacon - also Hanging Bridges.

Manuel Antonio has beaches, nice views, loads of restaurants, and a National Park full of wildlife, but that can get crowded - also mangrove tours, sailing, horseback riding, etc.

The Osa is still relatively untamed. You can see toucans, scarlet macaws, howlers, capuchins, etc. all from the front porch of your cabin. We stayed at Bosque del Cabo and really liked it.

Other people go to the Caribbean side; Tortuguero has turtles laying eggs.

Monteverde is also popular - good spot for birding with lots of plant life.

If you give us an idea of what interests you, everyone will chime in and try to point you in the right direction. Also, do you have an idea of your budget?
Old Oct 13th, 2007, 02:25 AM