Search

pop music in Brazil

Search this Thread

Old Aug 29th, 2002, 03:14 PM
Joe

pop music in Brazil

What is the best popular Brazilian CD to buy to get into the mood for Rio.<BR><BR>

Old Aug 30th, 2002, 05:20 AM
jill

<BR>One of the artists that really captured the essence of Brazil and especially Ipanema was Antonio Carlos Jobim. I am sure that any recording of his will get you in the mood! Other great artists - Milton Nascimento, Chico Buarque, Caetano Veloso, Gal Costa, Beth Carvalho, Djavan, Ivan Lins - just to name a few.

Old Aug 30th, 2002, 08:50 AM
Don

Im no expert on the most current popular Brazilian music right now but I do know that a fellow by the name of Roberto Carlos is popular now. All of the artists that Jill mentioned are the best and I love them all and are timeless especially Jobim who was popular in the 1960's as he is today.

Old Aug 30th, 2002, 09:45 PM
Connie

What do the young people of Brazil buy and listen to today. I am more interetsed in today's Brazilian top 40 rather than 1960's music. Thanks

Old Aug 31st, 2002, 04:58 AM
jill