Search

Language School help

Search this Thread

Old Mar 22nd, 2007, 02:38 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Language School help

I am currently looking for the "right" Spanish school in Costa Rica for my college age daughter and myself. I have narrowed it down to three: Intercultura, Instituto Guanacasteco, and CPI. Does anyone have experience with these (or others)?

Also - they are at different locations and I am unsure which location(s) would be best.
A) campuses in Heredia and Samara
B) campuses in Nicoya and Samara
C) campuses in Heredia, Monteverde and Flamingo
We would stay a week or more at each location.

Help, please!
Old Mar 22nd, 2007, 04:48 PM

Definitely I would recommend CPI. I have 3 years experience with it (one year for me, 2 for my daughter who earned her minor in Spanish there). Going back in June for 3 more weeks. It is an excellent school. Haven't done the Monteverde locations, but Heredia and Flamingo are both good. Especially like Heredia--I think the best learning takes place there. I'd suggest at least 2 weeks each location.
Old Mar 23rd, 2007, 07:56 AM
Original Poster

Thanks Shillmac -

I also thought that Heredia would be great. We wanted a school where we could change campuses every couple of weeks. My only concern with the Flamingo location was that I thought it might be too "Americanized" and touristy. Your thoughts?

Did you do a homestay? Liked it?
Old Mar 23rd, 2007, 08:16 AM