Bugs in Costa Rica?

Old Aug 19th, 2003, 12:23 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Bugs in Costa Rica?

Hello,

My boyfriend and I are thinking of planning a trip to Costa Rica in early December. I have a bit of a bug phobia. I was just wondering what the bug situation is there. We would probably be staying in low budget hotels or hostels while there. Would there be a lot of bugs in my hotel room? While I'm not petrified of bugs, I don't think that I would enjoy my trip as much if there were bugs in my hotel room.

Thanks!
Old Aug 19th, 2003, 01:59 PM
Susan_H

Read the "Bot Fly" thread. I'm not the least bit afraid of bugs, but this is giving me second thoughts about visiting Costa Rica!

Old Aug 19th, 2003, 07:08 PM

I have been spending several weeks a year in Costa Rica for about 10 years now. I have never had a Bot fly pulled out of me. This posting is the first I have ever seen about them. It is not a big problem. As I mentioned before. I had one taken out of my cat in Ohio. Maybe you should not ever come near here either. I am thinking of staying away from Colorado because of West Nile. I will be going to Connecticut for the first time in several years to visit my family. Glad Lyme disease isn't as bad as they thought it was going to be since it was discovered in Lyme CT many years ago. Be realistic people. We should all be wrapped in cocoons I guess.
Old Aug 19th, 2003, 07:20 PM

I just got back a few weeks ago. If you have a true phobia, you might have a hard time. Every night we had bugs in our hotel room, mostly moths which are attraced to light. Add to that some HUGE spiders and you might have a hard time. I think we got used to it by the end of the trip.
Old Aug 20th, 2003, 06:01 AM
Susan_H