Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > Mexico & Central America
Reload this Page >

Advice Needed for Costa Rica 1st Timers!

Search

Search this Thread

Old Feb 4th, 2009, 10:31 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Hi Everyone!

I need your help with a Costa Rica trip that I am just beginning to plan for Christmas 2009. I know that Costa Rica is very busy at this time, so I am trying to choose hotels now so that I can make advance reservations. After researching the board I have found that a good 1st timers suggestion for seeing Costa Rica is to split your time between Arenal and Manuel Antonio. We are a family of 4 (maybe 5!) adults. There will be two (or 3) of us in our mid 20's and our 2 parents.

1. I am looking for suggestions of where to stay in MA and Arenal. I have looked into La Posada in MA and El Silencio del Campo in Arenal. Are these recommended or are there better suggestions for a family our size? I am open to anything up to $250 a night!

2. What is the best way to get from the airport to Arenal and from Arenal to Manuel Antonio? We don't want to rent a vehicle, so we are looking into hiring a driver, buses, etc. What do you all recommend?

3. If we do not rent a car, is there an easy way to get around Arenal and Manuel Antonio when we are there for tours, day trips etc?

Thank you everyone for all your help and suggestions in advance. I really appreciate it

Kristin
Old Feb 4th, 2009, 11:26 AM

You can arrange for most of the tours in Arenal to pick you up.

As for where to stay... I went to Arenal for the vocano, most of all. So I wanted to stay on the side of the volcano that is active.

To cut costs, I stayed at the Linda Del Vista Norte. It wasn't bad, but if I had it to do over, I would have stay at Arenal Observatory Lodge.

I rented a vehicle and would do so again.

Hope you have as much fun as I did!

Keith
Old Feb 4th, 2009, 11:41 AM