Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > Mexico & Central America
Reload this Page >

2 weeks Peru - What cameras/luggage to bring?

Search

Search this Thread

Old Aug 10th, 2008, 10:06 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

My husband and I will be in Peru for 2 weeks in early October covering alot of ground. Our itinerary looks like this:

-Fly to Lima, overnight (a few hours) in airport, fly to Cuzco
-rent a car, to Ollanta for 3 nights including MP on 3rd day
-Cuzco for 2 nights
-to Puno and Titicaca islands for 3 nights
-Bus (or fly) to Arequipa for 2 nights
-fly to Lima for 2 nights, then home

We will be staying in mid-range places - we're not backpackers per se, or luxury travelers, but are thinking that a backpack vs. wheeled luggage is a better idea. Does anyone have advice on which might be better?

Also, I'm a photographer and I will want to take my macro/portrait and zoom lens, as well as my point and shoot digital. I would keep my equipment in my backpack mostly when it's not in use, but is it a bad idea to bring an SLR camera with a few lenses? I don't want to attract unwanted attention.

Thanks for any advice - please feel free to comment on the itinerary as well. Thanks to all who have posted such great trip reports. They've been very helpful!!
Old Aug 15th, 2008, 09:08 AM

Bumping this post.

Good questions about luggage and camera equipment, wasigan. I'm also in the planning stages for a Peru trip.

Old Aug 17th, 2008, 08:43 AM

A backpack with all your needs for 12 nights might be a little heavy and it would not be practical when you'll be visiting some sites (altitude and steep hikes!)
I took a wheeled suitcase and a small back pack for the camera gear.By all means,take your photo gear. Peru is absolutely beautiful and safe if you adhere to common sense guidelines...In Cuzco, you must stay at the Hotel Ninos. 20.00US per person/night and you are helping a great cause. Check it out : www.ninoshotel.com/