Search

10 Days in...Guatemala, Belize, Mexico?

Search this Thread

Old Feb 28th, 2007, 05:07 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
10 Days in...Guatemala, Belize, Mexico?

Hi All,

I asked some questions a few days ago, and I'm still trying to decide on my first trip between Guatemala, Mexico, or Belize. I'm a male US student and I will actually have longer than I thought I would, approx. 10 days (12 with travel time). Although I'm a first-timer, I'd like to stay out of the tourist traps and get somewhat off the beaten path.

If I stayed in Guatemala I would probably base in Antigua and then take day trips to see cultural areas and outdoor destinations in the area. I was wondering if anyone could comment on the "ease" and expense of travel by bus in Guatemala vs. Mexico and Belize. I was thinking that one of the appealing things about Guatemala is that everything except Tikal seems relatively near to Antigua, so I could basically base there and take day trips or take a 3-4 day trip around a region if I want. However, I've been reading through the archives and there have been a number of posts giving advice to travelers that travel in Mexico would be easier than Guatemala, which doesn't make sense to me. How hard/easy is it to travel around Guatemala? And how about Mexico (either the Yucutan or Mex City area) - isn't a lot of time wasted on buses since the country is so large?

Next, if I decide on Mexico, is there a good "base city" that you'll would suggest starting from, kind of like if I went to Guatemala I would base from Antigua? A nice, pretty town/city with proximity to a variety of attractions? I was thinking maybe Guanajuato, Oaxaca, Morelia maybe but I don't know how close these places are to things and it's so hard to judge transportation times...