zagat guide ?

Feb 27th, 2006, 12:34 PM
Original Poster

zagat guide ?

Has anyone used the Zagat Guide for Paris or France?..I notice that they have an online subscription too..this might be handy if you have computer access at your hotel..just curious. How does it compare with the Red Guide?..
Feb 27th, 2006, 12:37 PM

It is far less reliable than the red guide for me. Lots of people like Zagat, though, but I think you would be getting reviews based on the visits of foreign (American) visitors to Paris rather than Parisians.
Feb 27th, 2006, 12:53 PM

Yes, I have an online subscription to Zagat's, primarily because I use it frequently at home and domestically. It is convenient to have it for international use, but I agree with ekscrunchy that it is probably not as reliable as the Red Guide.

For example, I'm dying to know why the restaurant Le P'Tit Troquet was highly rated in Zagat's last edition, but does not appear at all in the current addition. Ideas?
Feb 27th, 2006, 12:59 PM

I use the Zagat guide in Paris. It has lots of useful listings and is great to look up phone numbers to make reservations on the run. I also use the Time Out Eating and Drinking guide, which has good reviews.
Feb 27th, 2006, 01:08 PM
RJD

I have reviewed a few restaurants in Paris for Zagat. Anybody can do so and contribute to the overall ratings. In evaluating a review look at the number and consistency of the reviews. With those caveats, the ratings seem to me quite reliable. Of course my ratings are right on the money.
Feb 27th, 2006, 01:12 PM

I bought a Zagat for Paris on my last trip; any Zagat's will be imperfect but generally helpful in its ratings, and I liked this resource as it is much broader in its sweep than a guidebook. I did wonder about whether it was based on the reviews submitted by French-speakers or English-speakers though--that is, is this a translation of a French Zagat guide, or is there no such thing?
Feb 27th, 2006, 01:47 PM