Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > Europe
Reload this Page >

Young Kids and Visiting Concentration Camps?

Search

Search this Thread

Old Jul 13th, 2018, 02:54 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

There is a rather lively discussion going on in the following thread (Germany Concentration Camp) about appropriateness of taking young kids to Nazi concentration camps with graphic displays like Dachau, Auschwitz-Birkenau, Bergen-Belsen, etc. Have you any experiences with taking kids there? And what general advice would you give families with younger kids about visiting these camps in general - all kids' maturitiy levels of course not being the same?

I have no experience taking kids there but would have taken my son if he were 12 or older and not dwelled on the most gruesome aspects as I find myself and many others doing. And there is no one right answer of course.
Old Jul 15th, 2018, 01:32 AM

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
When I visited Auschwitz a few years ago, there were parties of local school children being guided around the place and from what I could hear, no punches were pulled from the guide. These kids were 13/14 or so. Maybe it needs a hard hitting tour of these horrendous places to avoid a repetition of those atrocities. However, it seems that anti semitism is still rife in Eastern Europe (and not only Eastern Europe), so maybe it doesn't work. Depends on the kids.
Old Jul 15th, 2018, 02:59 AM

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
It is, IME. pretty hard not to "dwell" on any of the gruesome facts since the whole place is a gruesome fact. Figure it out: a "camp" in which people were worked/starved/tortured/medically experimented upon/immediately put to death because of their religious beliefs/sexual orientation/political leanings/ethnic background/eligibility as scapegoats.

What parts are not gruesome?
Old Jul 15th, 2018, 04:44 AM