World MasterCard MasterRental Insurance

Search

Search this Thread

Old Mar 14th, 2009, 07:11 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I have a World MasterCard which we plan to use for a car rental in Ireland in May. Following suggestions here, I called MasterCard and received a copy of the MasterRental Insurance agreement. Under the heading "Where you are covered," it states: "In general, coverage applies worldwide, but there are exceptions:" There are no exceptions listed, so should this be good enough for a car rental in Ireland? Also, are there any companies that don't charge an arm and a leg for an extra driver? Thank for the help.
Old Mar 14th, 2009, 07:28 PM
esm

Ireland & Italy are excluded.
Old Mar 14th, 2009, 11:19 PM

We have a World Master Card and we were covered in Ireland(as per their Letter of Coverage and a copy of terms and conditions for MasterRental). To get a copy of these, call 1-800-MC-ASSIST. They can answer all your questions and email you a copy of the Letter of Coverage which the car rental agency may want, along with a copy of terms and conditions which will show you are covered in Ireland.

Master Cards other than the "World" cards exclude Ireland, as do all Visa cards.
Old Mar 14th, 2009, 11:24 PM

The phone number you called was probably the one on the back of your Master Card. The phone number you need is the 800 number listed above. This will give you the insurance department which has the specifics on the rental agreements.
Old Mar 15th, 2009, 05:10 AM

For in-depth discussion on car hire, see:

http://www.fodors.com/community/euro...nsurance-1.cfm

It's why I call Irish Car Hire, "Kissing The Frog" ...

Bob
Old Mar 15th, 2009, 12:12 PM
Original Poster