Windsor, Wren's hotel. Where to eat?

Apr 17th, 2002, 08:30 PM
belle

Windsor, Wren's hotel. Where to eat?

I'm new to this amazing message board system.Someone very nicely gave me a recommendation for the Sir Christopher Wren's hotel in Windsor, which I have booked.
We don't want to eat in their dining room; sounds a bit stuffy. Any wonderful dinner place either in Windsor, or in Eton?
Many thanks, whoever you are.

Apr 17th, 2002, 10:49 PM
Leslie

Was just in Windsor in February. Saw the Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and it looked very nice...you'll be pleased.

Meanwhile, we ate at a very nice pub restaurant near there called The Royal Oak (dining area and pub are separate but adjacent)..the food what quite gourmet, for England and the bill was 38 pounds (inc. tip) for two, including glasses of wine and dessert. It's on Datchet Road. Our B & B host recommended it and we were quite pleased, including our view of the castle while we dined. We enjoyed seeing chaps in blazers and ties (Eton boys?). Also, there is a very interesting live playhouse very close buy.

Apr 18th, 2002, 01:35 AM
JOdy

We stay there all the time when we fly into heathrow and are picking up a car. wait till you see the breakfast!!

Our favorite restaurant is nearby but I cannot remember the name.. but I'll tell you haow to get there!

As you come out the front door of hotel turn right, go to the first street and cross street , turn right again, and it on the next corner.! wonderful seafood and Italian specialties and not expensive..you'll be the only tourists there. Stay away from the places on the High Street! I swear the next time I go I am looking at the name!

Apr 18th, 2002, 06:57 AM
belle

thank you both for your enthusiastic endorsements of the hotel and your restaurant recommendation(s)? I'll take the instructions along.

have a great day!

Apr 18th, 2002, 07:56 AM
David White

Belle,