What area in Paris should I stay in??

Search

Search this Thread

Old Jun 23rd, 2006, 06:30 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I will be in Paris for 5 days what area would you suggest to stay in for location, and nice hotel, not too big.
Old Jun 23rd, 2006, 06:48 PM

Do you have a budget in mind?
Old Jun 23rd, 2006, 07:01 PM

We just returned from Paris in May. We spent five nights at the Hotel Bonaparte in the 5th. Five minute walk to the Seine, ten minute stroll to the Latin Quarter center, five minutes to the Luxembourg Gardens...you get the idea. It was a great location.

You can search for the Bonaparte on this forum or elsewhere, there is much information about it. Basic, clean, non-smoking hotel in a terrific location.

Good luck and happy travels.
Old Jun 23rd, 2006, 07:15 PM

I stayed at a place not available to the public, but not far from the Bonapart and I assure you, it is a great location, although I have no first hand knowledge about the interior of the Hotel - I am sure the previous poster is credible.

There is always a great debate about right vs left. Inner Paris vs. outer, this arrondis. vs that, then there are the obligatory howls that it doesn't matter because Paris is Paris. Most people will say, "Stay in the area <blank> where I stayed, because it is the _real_ Paris", but then you can fill in the blank of where that area is with a random number generator, which suggests that the "Paris is Paris" argument carries some weight. For my part, I took my family (spouse, three teenagers) whose international experience was Cancun and Mazatlan, to the 5th eme. for a week and we had a ball. You can't go wrong going there, but apparently there is no where in Paris that is not a place to visit.
Old Jun 24th, 2006, 08:13 AM

Received 6 Likes on 1 Post