Wedding Ring..leave at home???

Mar 20th, 2006, 08:37 PM
Original Poster

Wedding Ring..leave at home???

Hello~

I am leaving to travel to London & Italy in a few short days (yippee!) and have a question....do you suggest leaving my wedding ring at home or is it okay to travel with it?

I have flashbacks from a decade ago when I studied abroad in Italy and remember the petty theft on trains, gypsys, etc...

Please advise Forodites!

Thanks much,

Lea Marie
Mar 20th, 2006, 10:51 PM
kmflondon

I always travel with only the jewelry I wear. So as long as you aren't going to keep it in your purse or luggage, bring it and wear it. I very much doubt someone will steal a diamond off of your finger. Now if it is a 4 carat diamond perhaps you will want other advice from people with such large diamonds. . . If it is that large, I would still wear it but make sure your insurance covers theft or loss while on vacation.

Mar 21st, 2006, 12:22 AM

I agree - unless it's some monsterous size....where it. I always travel with the jewelry that I wear most frequently on a daily basis. I think if I left my wedding rings and my other rings at home....I'd go nuts.

Better to have it with you - where you now where it is! While we were on vacation last year....our home was broken into and the rest of my good jewelry was stolen! Just can't win!
Mar 21st, 2006, 12:59 AM

I travel with my wedding ring on, but don't wear a lot of other jewelry. You can always "turn" your diamond around while out and about.
Mar 21st, 2006, 05:12 AM
Original Poster

Thanks everyone for the great advice!

Lea
Mar 21st, 2006, 05:18 AM