Warning: Budapest Airport Minibus

Jan 31st, 2001, 08:32 AM
Jim

Warning: Budapest Airport Minibus

Just got back from my first trip to Budapest and had a bad experience with the minibus.
Upon arrival I purchased a return trip ticket,which The lady at the minibus counter told me would be cheaper than buying two individual tickets. 1650 instead of 1800 each way. So I'm handed my tickets and am told to wait for the bus to my hotel,it gets there, I hand the driver my tickets; remember it's my first time here and I don't speak Hungarian, he rips the tickets and gives me my receipts, I see one slip of paper that says "Return" so I place the slips in my passport so I don't lose them.
To arrange your pickup back to the airport all you do is tell the front desk of your hotel to call the minibus company and pick you up about an hour and a half before your flight time the next day.
Departure day arrives and I meet the bus at the pre-arranged time and hand him my ticket along with a yellow slip with the same number on it as the white slip that says return. This is where the problem begins.
I'm told by the driver that speaks no English, which is fine since I speak no Hungarian,
that the ticket I have is not valid since it's missing a stub that should be attached to it, that I must purchase a one way trip so he can take meto the airport.
I was so angry since I had the ticket in my passport and it says Return on it, we
argue for a while.
I recruit the front desk man at the Gellert to explain to the driver that I already paid for my return trip and this man does very little but tell me that since the hotel is not associated with the minibus company there is nothing he can do. I must state that the price of the extra ticket I had to purchase was roughly 7 dollars, but it's not the money, it's the principal.
So here's the deal: When you buy your ticket it comes with two sections on the left is a bigger portion and on the right is the stub that the driver is supposed to retain.