Transportation in Europe

Search

Transportation in Europe

Search this Thread

Old Jan 22nd, 2011, 03:46 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Transportation in Europe

What is the most efficient and cheapest way to travel between cities in Europe. I looked at a few places and it seems to be quite expensive. Here is my travel plans. This is my first time traveling to Europe so I would appreciate any advice and recommendations. Thanks everyone
7/14 - 7/17 - Rome
7/17 - 7/20 - Florence
7/20 - 7/23 - Venice
7/23 - 7/26 - Milan
7/26 - 7/29 - Paris
7/29 - 8/1 - Amsterdam
Old Jan 22nd, 2011, 03:57 PM

Certainly by train except maybe for Milan to Paris. Advance, discounted purchases by train can be very cheap. Where are you checking for prices?
Old Jan 22nd, 2011, 03:58 PM

All by train, except to Paris---fly that leg.
See www.whichbudget.com for cheap fares
Old Jan 24th, 2011, 08:57 AM

Trains in Europe are inexpensive for what you get IMO, and definitely compared to the cost of trains in the US, which are very high. Sometimes people have very unrealisitic ideas of what a train trip should cost -- I remember someone once was complaining about a fare that was maybe 40 euro for a 6-8 hour TGV train trip.

SOme countries are cheaper than others, of course, Poland is a lot cheaper than France or Switzerland or Germany.

Fares will be cheaper in Europe than if you check from an online travel agent like Raileurope, of course, and buy from them. Once in a while some turn out to be not too bad a price from them, but not usually. Your trips are all fairly short, anyway, so I really wonder if you just have unrealistic ideas of what they should cost.
Old Jan 24th, 2011, 09:14 AM