Vespa/Scooter to Chianti from Florence

Search

Search this Thread

Old Jul 2nd, 2016, 07:16 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Hey guys! My boyfriend and I will be in Florence from March 13-16 and would love to take a day trip to the Chianti wine region via vespa/scooter. I've done some research and I stumbled on a tour company (Tuscany Vespa Tours) who's got some great views that offer a 7-hour day trip to Chianti, however, it's a bit pricy (more than $200 for couple) and we kind of wanted to do the trip to Chianti on our own time/pace. I've had some experience riding scooters when visiting Thailand and I feel quite comfortable riding to Chianti because I hear the roads are quite spacious (but correct me if I'm wrong...these are comments I've read online)...my only concern is getting to Chianti without getting lost. Are the roads to Chianti easy to navigate? I won't have a gps since I normally turn the data off on my phone to avoid international charges so we'll have to use an old fashion map lol...I would appreciate any suggestions from anyone who have some info that can help with my trip! I truly appreciate it!
Old Jul 2nd, 2016, 07:21 AM
Original Poster

***My only concern is getting to Chianti AND getting lost*** EDIT
Old Jul 2nd, 2016, 07:49 AM

Rain could be a concern. Some people are too fearful to ride a Vespa in Florence and rightfully so. The accident rate among tourists is quite high. A lot depends on the day and time of your departure and return.

The ordinary SS roads to Chianti shouldn't pose much problem. They're single-lane, smooth asphalt. If you don't drive fast enough, Italian males will want to pass you. If you use Street View, you can view almost any route in Google Maps. This a great way to study the various routes you may wish to take.