Venice & Rome

Aug 8th, 2005, 04:31 AM
Original Poster

Venice & Rome

Hello all, I will be in Venice and Rome the first week of Sept. I am a Chef and I'm looking for the small chef owned or family owned restaurant that gives ou the real feeling of being in Italy. I feel the best food comes from the heart, real people that care and work hard. The kind of restaurant that you want to hug everyone on the way out because they made your day.
question #2. I'm looking for the hole in the wall kind of places that make the local favorites. This can be like what the Jewish Knish is in New york, the Phily steak sand is to Phily. The special foods that we walk around town with, or say when you get to Italy you have to try this.....Thanks for all the help......Bill
Aug 8th, 2005, 05:57 AM
DRJ

Bill, I travel to Italy twice a year, but can only recommend a restaurant that you desire in Orvieto, Umbria. I Sette Consoli is run by a woman (friend of Lidia Bastianich) who recently had a Michelin star. (I don't know how she lost it.) Orvieto is a one hour train trip from Rome and IMO, worth the trip.

I recommend that you visit eGullet.org, Chowhound.com and Slowtrav.com for lots more opinions.

BTW, if your interest includes pizza, I recommend Pizzaria Remo in Trastevere. A neighborhood institution. Take the Metro to Piramide, walk west on via Marmorata past Volpetti's (the best food store in Rome) and turn left. Ask anyone for directions for the few remaining blocks. Some fun.
Aug 8th, 2005, 06:04 AM
DRJ

I should have mentioned that the train station in Orvieto is across the street from the funicular that takes you to Orvieto Alto. ISC is a walk of a few blocks. I'm certain that in September the outdoor dining under the tents will be useable. Great food and local wine with perfect service. And if you can speak a little Italian the chef-owner will be happy to give you the time.
Aug 8th, 2005, 08:33 AM
Original Poster