Reload this Page >

Using the internet overseas

Search

Search this Thread

Old May 13th, 2002, 06:47 AM
Jackie

Im new at computers when you want to send a message home from London and go to a internet cafe how do you send it do you use your name and aol or what? can some one tell me how to do it Thanks

Old May 13th, 2002, 06:50 AM
K

If you're an AOL subscriber, you'd need to log on to the AOL website in order to access your e-mail account outside your regular computer. After you type in www.aol.com or whatever AOL variation, you'll get an AOL screen. Double click on the mailbox icon in order to access your e-mail account. You should then get the regular sign-in screen which would ask for your AOL screen name and password. Then, you should be good to go.

Old May 13th, 2002, 06:53 AM
Rex

If you're unfamiliar with other "web-based e-mail options" you might want to take a look at www.hotmail.com or the e-mail features of www.yahoo.com or www.netscape.net as solid alternatives to AOL-based e-mail. I am not an AOL user, so I can't give you the nitty-gritty compare-and-contrast. I continue to prefer www.usa.net - - but it is no longer in the free domain.<BR><BR>Best wishes,<BR><BR>Rex<BR>

Old May 13th, 2002, 07:13 AM
stultzdw

I know with my AT&T account, I had to be signed in with my regular dial-in account in order to turn on the feature to allow me to check e-mail from any web browser. I only had to do this one time.<BR><BR>Don't wait to get to a foreign country to try this out. Go to your library or a neighbors and type in www.aol.com or whatever you use and try to access your e-mail there.<BR><BR>Another thought is to check your password. Sometimes it can be difficult to find non-alphanumeric characters on a different style keyboard. Stuff like the dash, the underscore, even the '@' symbol. It'll be easier to just have numbers and letters in your password.

Old May 13th, 2002, 10:06 AM
Christina