Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > Europe
Reload this Page >

Using reward points..has this happened to you?

Search

Search this Thread

Old Oct 29th, 2007, 02:10 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I got information about using my B of America Signature points on an open jaw ticket from NYC to Geneva and returning back to NYC out of Paris. I did all my research and used this information to plan my trip. However, when I went to book a week later it seems that the travel "professional" gave me the wrong information and I cannot do what I want to do for the points I planned to use. Needless to say I'm ticked off. Instead of a "free" ticket my travels will cost be $743! I called and spoke to a supervisor to no avail. So..I will be changing my reward travel charge card to a different bank. My travels are mostly to Europe, Calif. and Hawaii. I'm a teacher so my dates during the school year are known in advance, but are similar to everyone else's. I charge everything and don't keep a balance.What cards are folks using these days?
Old Oct 29th, 2007, 02:26 PM

Capital One visa. they have the best deal (at least from the research i did) on charging in foreign currency.
Old Oct 29th, 2007, 02:42 PM

Received 4 Likes on 3 Posts
I don't know how BofA's points work. Do they have their program rules in writing or on a website? Why was there a charge of $743? Was the charge because you were short on points?

Everyone has their "favorite" card(s) and reward program(s), depending on where and how they travel and what they hope to get "free." Some people like to seek out and buy very low air fares, using points for hotels, car rentals, cruises, etc.

My previous card for many years: Citibank MasterCard for American's FF program. I had no problems with Citibank and actually prefer American's FF program. But American's US-Europe schedules have changed significantly over the years and no longer work well for me.