Search

United Kingdom

Search this Thread

Old Jan 10th, 2012, 08:16 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
United Kingdom

G'Day from Australia

My husband of 10 years and my 8 year old daughter are looking at touring the United Kingdom (England, Ireland, Scottland and Wales) in 2013. Wondering if anyone out there can give us tips on the best time to go and how long to spend over there to relaxingly take it all in.

Want to visit all the main attractions and take in the country side. Not sure if we would be hiring a car or a RV to do this trip either. Are not into the night seen but rather the family Christian scene. Advice most welcome.

This is my first time on Fodors, my eyes were opened up to the site by a good mate

Await advice and responsed.

Cheers

eadodd
Old Jan 10th, 2012, 09:40 PM

Received 50 Likes on 7 Posts
"<i>how long to spend over there to relaxingly take it all in.</i>"

You are talking 4 countries-and there is no way to take them <i>all</i> in in a lifetime let alone one holiday.

You could spend a month in Scotland and barely scratch the surface . . .or you could see Edinburgh and 1 or 2 other areas in maybe 7 or 8 days.

same for Ireland - 2 weeks would let you see Dublin and a bit of the scenic west coast/SW. Or you could spend a month.

London - a minimum of a week and still miss a lot

Wales- a week in the north and a week in the south would give you a taste.

So you need to figure out what your own 'musts' are. And how much time is realistic for you and then we can help you refine/pare things down. (In general, an RV is not the way to go. Though it can be done)
Old Jan 10th, 2012, 11:40 PM

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts