Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > Europe
Reload this Page >

Trying to decide between Ireland or Scotland

Jul 10th, 2006, 09:30 AM
Original Poster

OK, this may be too general, but I'm planning a 2 week-ish trip in October to the UK, and am trying to narrow down the places to visit.

My boyfiend and I will be flying into London, probably the 27th/28th of September. Staying in London for a day or two (I wanna ride in the London Critical Mass, so that's the 29th), and leaving to visit my parents in the Cotswolds shortly thereafter. Visit with the parents till the 5th or so (5 days), then head off for another 6 days.

Now's the question. We've been talking about seeing Dublin and Belfast, or we could also head to Edinburgh and Glasgow. I'm torn on which route to take.

Is one itennary easier than another (ie, transportation and lodging). I'm really not wanting to rent a car, as I'm a lousy driver, and the BF can't drive a stick.

Would you recommend an open jaw ticket and leave from Ireland or Scotland? We'll be coming from Minneapolis.

Also, we've been thinking of maybe a hostel (with a private room) or B&B, I've never stayed in either, so I'm a bit lost in picking those as well.

Any thoughts are appreciated.
Jul 10th, 2006, 10:07 AM

Either would be fine. Whichever you choose do try for open Jaw -- either in to London/home friom Glasgow, or in to London/home from Dublin.

My choice would be Scotland (purely subjective) I MUCH prefer Edinburgh to Dublin, and Glasgow is a great city, Belfast is OK.

The logistics would be similar-ish. Where in the Cotswolds? Depending on the location you could fly to GLA or EDI from Birmingham, or take the train up north. Getting from Edinburgh to Glasgow is a piece of cake - quick trains city center to city center. 3+ days in edinburgh and 2 days in Glasgowwould be a good taste.