Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > Europe
Reload this Page >

Trip report: Amsterdam, Munich, Salzburg, Prague, Berlin, Hamburg, Cologne, Dusseldorf, Bonn and back to Amsterdam

Search

Trip report: Amsterdam, Munich, Salzburg, Prague, Berlin, Hamburg, Cologne, Dusseldorf, Bonn and back to Amsterdam

Search this Thread

Old Dec 31st, 2005, 04:02 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

One day in early November I was thinking about my holiday plans while I was watching the Amazing Race. Not the smartest move on my part. I thought to myself I could do that. How hard could that be?

I travel throughout the states for a living, so I am used to staying at 5 star hotels with a limo or car service picking ushering me wherever I needed to go, my travel plans arranged with a phone call.

I wanted to do something different, something outside my comfort zone. I wanted to rough it. I was going to travel alone and use this time to have my mid life crisis. So I thought 14 Days in Europe via the train system, staying at budget hotels and even a hostel here and there.

I did a luxury trip to Paris earlier this year so I thought I should keep the trip to about 2300 US dollars. I had no idea where to start so I went to my preferred airlines website and started entering in different cities all over Europe and I got a hit Newark to Amsterdam $340.00. I figured it’s a great place to start my race.

The only problem with this idea was that I didn’t have a backpack and I had never backpacked in my life, so I logged onto Fodor’s and starting posting questions. Since I was on a budget I created an EBAY account and started to bid on a backpack. I won a Dana Design Far Flung Bag for $40. I thought I was all set. The bag came and it smelled like the owner smoked two packs a day. This was not going to work.