trenitalia prices

Feb 11th, 2006, 11:19 AM
Original Poster

trenitalia prices

I was checking trenitalia.com for several routes within Italy, but the "no" button indicated they could not be bought on line. I could find no way to get the prices of the tickets. Can you only do that if you're buying on line?

Vera
Feb 11th, 2006, 11:55 AM

There could be a couple of reasons (but I am not an expert).

1. If you want an international route you have to select International on the frunt page. Otherwise it gives the timetable but you can't buy tickets.

2. They only sell online a certain number of months in advance 3 or 4 or something. So try the same route with an earlier date and see if it lets you buy then. If it does then that is why!

Hope this helps.

Feb 11th, 2006, 12:20 PM

You dont mention what route you are interested in taking. If you are traveling on a common route with a variety of train choices, simply click on the next line and the prices will show.

The shorter routes that have only 2nd class or local trains are usually not very expensive and can be easily purchased on the day of travel.
Feb 11th, 2006, 12:21 PM
ira

Hi V,

You can't buy online today or any later than 60 days from today.

Feb 11th, 2006, 01:51 PM
Original Poster

I'm not trying to buy on line--just trying to get prices. I tried various routes and had no problem getting the schedule. I just did it again--here are the details:
On the original page I entered from Naples to Florence, 10-05-2006, 9:00. Schedules of several trains came up. I clicked on the number 1 (first choice of schedules) The next page showed that train's schedule and choices of "next solution" or "prezzo" When I click "prezzo" I get a page with a list of links in Italian and a phrase in Italian with "unable to contact server system" in English.
Is there some other way to find the prices??

Vera
Feb 11th, 2006, 02:41 PM

First, go to the English part (click where it says "English" (in small letters) somewhere at the top.)