travelling from nuremberg airport to ansbach germany

Search

Search this Thread

Old Aug 19th, 2010, 10:45 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

please help , i am travelling to nuremberg airport then i have to find my way to ansbach germany , i have never used trains before , i have looked on the trains in germany but find it confusing ,can someone help what i do once i arrive in nuremberg , is the train station far also . thanks
Old Aug 20th, 2010, 12:17 AM

Hi, welcome to Fodor's.

Just one piece of info ahead: You tagged your posting here as a "trip report" (you see the little book-like icon in front of your headline?). That means that other readers will expect a vacation report, but not a question. So you might not get much feedback.

Back to your question:

Nürnberg airport to Ansbach is easy.

At the airport, you look for the desk of the local transit authority VGN. Buy your ticket there.
If you have problems to locate it, follow signs for "U" (= underground/subway) to the subway station. You can get a ticket from the machine there as well.
Here's a short guide:
http://www.vgn.de/CFF6BA75-C0B4-11D7...E0C?Edition=en
If you are traveling on your own, and just need a single ride to Ansbach, select fare zone "9" at the vending machine. The price to pay should be € 8.30. This ticket will cover your whole trip, from the airport to Ansbach.

You take the subway to Nürnberg main station, and connect there to the regional train with final destination Ansbach.
There is at least one train/hour leaving Nürnberg main station at 10 minutes to the hour. Regional trains are abbreviated as R, RB, or RE in train station icons and displays.

There are often other trains in between that you can also take, but that depends on time.
If you just missed one train by a few minutes, inquire at the info desk in the station for trains towards Ansbach that you may take with your ticket.
Old Aug 20th, 2010, 01:02 AM
Original Poster