travel attire

Sep 26th, 2001, 03:51 PM
Susan Eligh

travel attire

I have heard that people in Italy normally dress more formally than we do in the U.S. As a retired school teacher, I am used to "dressing up" for school. My husband, however, insists that it is perfectly acceptable for tourists in Italy to wear Levi's. Who is right?

Sep 26th, 2001, 03:57 PM
Bebe

You are both right. People in Italy do dress very well. I just returned from a two week visit and was amazed at how nicely everyone dressed. All of the men looked like they came right out of GQ magazine. Many tourists do wear jeans and it is perfectly acceptable. However, after seeing how well dressed the Italians were I felt more comfortable wearing something nicer than jeans in the large cities and at dinner.

Sep 26th, 2001, 04:00 PM
Susan

Did anyone read the Frugal Traveller in the NY Times this past weekend. It was all about how the author dresses when she travels. Personally I thought she was right on.

Sep 26th, 2001, 05:16 PM
XXXXX

read it, but she certainly has a sense of style and self that a lot of tourists can't manage. and she lives and works in a city, and travels a lot and has resources that some can't manage. also I think she is younger and can get away with a lot more than the middle aged

Sep 26th, 2001, 05:59 PM
Gigi

Susan,
Loved the New York times piece. I think people of all ages can glean something from her statements on style.

Sep 26th, 2001, 06:07 PM
mike

Is there a link to the piece? Or what did she say? Thanks much, M.

Sep 26th, 2001, 06:09 PM

Sep 26th, 2001, 06:38 PM
john g