Reload this Page >

Top Must-See Priorities for 3 Days in Rome

Search

Search this Thread

Old Mar 24th, 2006, 10:06 AM
Anna_Issa

My husband and I will be staying in Rome 3 1/2 days during November prior to taking a Mediterranean cruise departing from Civitavecchia. We get into Rome on a Tuesday at approx. 9:00 AM and depart to board the cruise ship on a Friday at approx. 12:00 PM. Since 3 days aren't really that much to see all the sites in Rome - and this is my first time to Italy, I need your help on deciding (in order of most important) what I should not miss. A note of importance to me - I love the history of Rome, but don't care much about ruins, at least not on this short trip. I appreciate your expert and wise opinions. "Gracias".

Old Mar 24th, 2006, 10:15 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Typically, for 3 days, visitors would allow one day to visit the Vatican (the museums and St Peter's), one day to visit ancient Rome (Colosseum and Forum), and one day to cover the sights of the ancient center (Pantheon, Piazza Navona, Trevi fountain, Piazza di Spagna).

It depends on your interests and how busy you want to be--even with only 3 days.
Old Mar 24th, 2006, 10:33 AM

There are ruins all over Rome, so they might be hard to avoid. And you'd be missing a big part of its history if you skipped the Colosseum/Forum area.
But if you really don't want to see ancient ruins, what are some of your interests? There's plenty of art and architecture, glorious fountains, myriad shopping and eating.
I agree with ellenem that those are the three important elements of Rome.
Old Mar 24th, 2006, 10:37 AM

click on "destination" at the top of the page then find Rome and look at the information. A guidebook also helps.
Old Mar 24th, 2006, 12:43 PM