Search

Tipping maids?

Search this Thread

Old Aug 22nd, 2005, 12:21 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Tipping maids?

I was wondering in which countries it is the norm to tip the maids in hotels and the waitstaff in restaurants? I ask because this summer I worked as a maid in a well known, 5 star hotel near Paris. During the entire 3 months I was there, I received one 2 euro piece once as a tip, and that was it (except for an American family giving me a bottle of wine but that was for exceptional service, i.e I was called at night, every night for 2 weeks to fix up their room and made a huge effort to talk to them etc)

The guests came from all over the world, a good proportion from the USA and Asia. The average room price was around 500 euros a night, yet I was never tipped and the waiters said the same. It just seemed really cheap considering that all the guests were obviously stinking rich. Maybe they thought we were just doing our job and didn't deserve extra? I was paid 600 euros a month for working 5 days a week, 8.30am-10pm, the price some of them paid for a room and many of the waitstaff were on work experience, working for free. I know that wasn't the guests fault but I was really surprised that more people didn't feel obliged to tip.

Was it because tipping isn't done in France? Would most people (even Americans) know this and therefore not tip?
Old Aug 22nd, 2005, 12:25 PM
ira

Hi m,

I hope it was a nice bottle of wine.

In Europe, in general, service personnel are paid much closer to a living wage than in the US.

The service charge and the VAT (through subsidies) takes the place of what in the US would be working for tips.

I tip for extra service.

I leave cash, because I found out that in most European countries a tip added to the CC is considered the property of the owner.

Old Aug 22nd, 2005, 12:30 PM
ira

PS, I once tipped a maid in Paris, and was almost caught by her older brother.

Old Aug 22nd, 2005, 12:35 PM