Studying abroad in Spain

Old Dec 21st, 2005, 05:59 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Studying abroad in Spain

I am a junior at the University of Oklahoma, and I am studying abroad in Valencia, Spain for six months. I am trying to decide whether to get a Europass because I want to travel all over Spain and Europe. Also, I am trying to find good hostels to stay at in Valencia and other parts of Europe. If you have any other general advice, travel or other, please let me know. I have never been to Europe. Thanks!
Old Dec 21st, 2005, 06:06 PM

Heather, I don't have any advice but I just wanted to say I hope you have a great time on your adventure. How excited you must be! When do you leave?
Old Dec 21st, 2005, 06:27 PM
Original Poster

Thanks Judi! I leave in the middle of January and I am so excited! It is going to be an experience of a lifetime and I cannot wait to see another part of the world. I have only heard great things about Europe,and I just want to be there!
Old Dec 21st, 2005, 06:37 PM

I Eruopass will do you under most cercumstances, just remember that reservations are often required, as is a suppliment.

Sorry, but I can't help you with the hostals.

Old Dec 21st, 2005, 06:44 PM

Heather,
As a college student (way back in the late 80's) I did a study abroad my junior year in Switzerland and my Eurail pass was invaluable. I spent every weekend (our classes ended on Thursdays at noon) traveling throughout Europe and have such great memories. Plus that was part of the fuel that has fired my obession for travel.

I can't speak of any hostels in Spain but the Swiss hostels back then were great!
Old Dec 21st, 2005, 06:46 PM

www.madridman.com has hostal and hostel information for many cities in Spain, not just Madrid. Hostals in Spain are small pensione hotels usually family run. Hostels are youth hostels.
You might prefer to fly on Europe's many budget airlines.You can find flight sales for as little as 10E. www.whichbudget.com