Spain vs. Tuscany.

Search

Spain vs. Tuscany.

Search this Thread

Old Oct 29th, 2005, 11:15 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Spain vs. Tuscany.

I know this is a VERY general question, but...I can't decide on whether to take my husband (for his 50th birthday) to Spain or Tuscany. There is SO much to chose from out there, and I'm not good with a lot of choices. I have spent endless hours on the interent and, frankly, need someone to make the decision for me!

If we went to Spain, I was thinking of doing a loop from Madrid (where to - I'm not sure - possibly towards Bilboa and staying at different paradors). My husband has been to Spain on business, but hasn't done much sight-seeing.

We've never been to Italy, but have thought Tuscany may be a nice area as my husband loves wine, history and architecture, however, he's NOT at all into big crowds so need to keep that in mind. We are planning on traveling in Oct of 2006. We don't mind moving from one place to another and will be renting a car.

If someone could please give me their opinion, I'd appreciate it immensly.
Old Oct 29th, 2005, 11:32 AM

almost anywhere you will go will be special and it is hard to help you decide.

there are many beautiful small towns in spain, it seems a bit more primitive, less chic, than the towns in italy, but perhaps that is just my vision. i have lived in spain for 35 years, still enjoy spain every time we go for a long weekend. but we also can't seem to get enough of italy, escaping there for quick three /four day jaunts when we see a low cost flight bargain.

we are not into crowds either.. so going the small town route is a good idea.

how long do you have ? i think attractive lodgings will be of key interest, and setting up a few activities and tours.