Search

South Germany & North France

Search this Thread

Old Mar 16th, 2012, 12:50 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
South Germany & North France

Hello,
I am leaving the country for the first time and staying for the month of June with a couple in Germany about an hour from Stuttgart. Then, for the month of July, i will be splitting time between a family in Paris and then one in Versailles.

My question is: I don't have much money, but what are some things that i just have to do there, being it is my first time?
I'm not a big city fan; i'm looking forward to walking around villages and tasting food and drink.
Experiencing the culture and people is important to me because i am of German and French decent (i'm also Swiss; i'd like to go to Switzerland if it isn't too expensive)

Thanks for your time!
Old Mar 16th, 2012, 10:43 PM

Redfish,

Look for things that are either free, or close to free. I believe that Paris offers free admission to museums on the first Saturday (this if from memory, and it might be Sunday) of the month.

You can stroll the grounds of Versailles for free.

If you're being fed, mostly, your largest costs will be transportation. Check the various train prices. Start with SCNF and go from there.
Old Mar 17th, 2012, 06:30 AM

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Welcome to fodors.

Which country are you leaving for the first time?

Stuttgart, you have to walk in the black forest, try a summer luge (I think there is one down there), try the local wine and beer, take a modern train (ICE if possible), the local car museums, a major medievel cathedral (Ulm's is very good).

In France I think the important thing to do is to chat to people in the shops, realise how much time customers take in choosing their food, so go to the vegtable market with Madam and soak up the atmosphere of any market.

In Paris, walk in the big open gardens, if you have to pay for a museum visit the d'orsay but look out for churches to visit (normally free),