Search

Solo female travelling from London to the Greek Islands

Search this Thread

Old Sep 9th, 2017, 07:37 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Solo female travelling from London to the Greek Islands

Hi,

I'm a 38 year old woman, looking to solo travel to the Greek Islands for around 10 - 14 days from the last week in September 2017. I would be grateful for any advice on safety for a woman travelling alone on the Greek Islands, which Island to stay on, accommodation & activities please.

So to start with - I've been to a travel agent & they have quoted me £1,400 for a 10 night stay in Corfu (with easyJet). I was hoping to spend less to be honest, although I'm unaware just how much this trip should cost & wondered if staying in an airbnb apartment might be a better option? My concern is whether this is a safe option for a woman travelling alone? I've never used airbnb on my own before. I'm not particularly keen on just taking a bedroom in someone's home, I would rather an apartment to myself, but it's whether it's safe?

Personally, I had thought of staying on Kefalonia or Santorini? But my agent has told me Corfu is cheaper?

I'm looking for a relaxing holiday (although I'm not a keen sunbather) & a gorgeous view where I can put pen to paper & write. I love boat trips, so would be great to know the best island for taking them. I'm hoping they still run in late September? And how much do they roughly cost? Maybe a wine tour, so day trip ideas would be greatly welcomed & somewhere that has a few lovely restaurants & bars. I love meeting new people, but want to steer clear of the club/party crowd. I should point out that I can't drive, but thankfully love walking. Are the islands small enough to get around on foot?

All advice greatly welcomed & thanks in advance!
Old Sep 9th, 2017, 08:20 AM