Ship TO Europe or WITHIN Europe??

Search

Search this Thread

Old Jun 14th, 2009, 03:57 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I am studying abroad this fall. I am traveling for 20 days before going to my university. I had decided to ship a box of clothes and my laptop from the US to Germany, but am wondering if it would be better to ship it once I get to my layover in Dublin. I only have 8 hours there, with getting to and from the airport, doing lunch, and doing some sight seeing, would there be enough time to ship from Dublin to Germany? Would it be too much of a hassle? And would it be significantly cheaper?
Old Jun 14th, 2009, 04:03 PM

I would not ship your laptop; carry it with you if you can manage it.

The shipping rates from the US vary. When I looked into this two summers ago I found the best rate was the post office for a 20 lb package. If you go over 20 lbs then the price jumps significantly but check this out again on the USPS site.
Old Jun 14th, 2009, 04:11 PM
Original Poster

Yeah, I have to ship my laptop becuse I don't want to have to drag it with me when I go to Italy and Greece. I will back everything up and I have insurance, so if something happens (God forbid) I will just have to deal with it.

I still don't know if I should ship my clothes to Germany from the US or from Dublin....
Old Jun 14th, 2009, 04:47 PM

You really need to hear from someone in Ireland about the feasibility and package restrictions of shipping from Dublin but that will probably have to wait until tomorrow morning as it's quite late there.
Old Jun 15th, 2009, 07:23 AM
Original Poster

Anyone from Ireland have any input on shipping to Germany?
Old Jun 16th, 2009, 02:21 AM

ttt
Old Jun 16th, 2009, 03:09 AM

Can't the poster just check the parcel rates on the Irish Post Office website and compare them to those offered by DHL?

Though presumably s/he has already.
Old Jun 16th, 2009, 03:11 AM