semester abroad in london

Search

Search this Thread

Old Oct 12th, 2006, 05:01 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Hi, A friend of mine's son is planning to spend the spring semester in London at Regent's College. He is new to traveling. Can anyone recommend websites/blogs that would be geared to this type of experience? I've given him a "Rough Guide", directions to websites such as the British Tourist Authority and my own "pearls of wisdom" but was hoping to give him some more references geared to his age (about 20) and the college abroad experience. Thanks in advance
Old Oct 12th, 2006, 06:01 PM

I don't have any written references, but I could be a personal reference, as I studied in the UK during college and am back now for graduate school. Many college friends studied in London.
Old Oct 12th, 2006, 06:23 PM

How about lonely planet (www.lonelyplanet.com)? There are a lot of young people there talking about travel and study abroad.
Old Oct 12th, 2006, 06:39 PM

Received 14 Likes on 11 Posts
I've always thought the Timeout guides were more for college age.
www.timeout.com

He should also take a look at the Thorn Tree forum on Lonely Planet.
Old Oct 12th, 2006, 07:16 PM

The Let's Go series of travel books is geared toward college age, mostly at the 21 - 30 age group.

I bought the book on Paris and found it fit me quite well at age 67.

I am not into the disco scene, but the tips on cheaper places to sleep and eat was most welcome. Sightseeing opportunities were well described.

I think a whole semester in London would be an education in itself. I just hope the prices don't shock you. London is an expensive city, particular with the dollar so weak against the pound.

I was in London in the summer of 2005 and slowly but surely those £14.00 fish and chip quick meals for 2 of us began to turn up as $27.00 entries on my credit card bills.

Old Oct 12th, 2006, 07:39 PM