Search

Seeking ideas about travel blogs

Search this Thread

Old Apr 12th, 2018, 12:54 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Seeking ideas about travel blogs

Hello Fodorites,

I have always sent daily journal entries home as we travel, and generally produce them on a tablet of some sort. Now my friends and family are asking that I incorporate some photos as well. Since we only take one or two trips a year, I don't want a huge expense maintaining a blog, but am intrigued with the idea of a simple blog or anything else you can suggest. I am no techie, but can work my way through something when I'm motivated!

I usually post an abbreviated/edited version of my journal here as a trip report but I don't want to necessarily share all the personal details with the world at large.

Thanks in advance!

Jane
Old Apr 12th, 2018, 12:59 PM

I use WordPress.com. The app is slightly buggy when it comes to photos so I mostly post through the full website.
Old Apr 12th, 2018, 03:02 PM

I have been down this road a bit and have tried a couple of things. Here is a pretty good recent article about free blogging platforms:

https://www.creativebloq.com/web-des...orms-121413634

I finally ended up using blogger (as mentioned in the article it is owned by google) but I think tumblr is worth a look too, especially if you would like it to be photo heavy.

Here is a sample page I did on blogger for the blog I created when we were waiting to get into the Peace Corps. I am not promoting the blog-I don't even keep it up but thought you might like to see what a easy free blog can look like. I set it up in about an hour:

A Passage to Peace Corps: It's Official, We Accepted Our Invitation to Serve in Peace Corps..........

And the editing tools are pretty similar to this forum actually

Last edited by jpie; Apr 12th, 2018 at 03:03 PM. Reason: spelling
Old Apr 12th, 2018, 08:27 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post