Scotland Recommendations

Old Jul 8th, 1999, 07:26 PM
Nancy

Scotland Recommendations

I'm planning a 10 day trip to Scotland in November. For those who have traveled in Scotland, what would you absolutely not miss? Also, I can't decide if I want to rent a car or rely on bus/train transportation. Frankly I'm somewhat afraid of driving on the left, although I am an excellent driver and have driven in Europe before. Any ideas would be most welcome!! Thank you!

Old Jul 9th, 1999, 07:57 AM
nickie

Nancy, if you scroll down through the U.K. entries, there are many suggestions about Scotland, especially from Sheila and Tony. I believe Sheila covered a lot of ground.

Old Jul 9th, 1999, 08:43 AM
Sheila

Yes, could I suggest the same as Nancy, but if you come back with specifics we'll try to fil in the gaps.

If you can bear it, drive. Public transport is not too hot

Old Jul 9th, 1999, 08:45 AM
Nancy

Thanks for your reply! Yes, I have read the other material and appreciate its comprehensiveness. I'm just looking for those who have traveled to Scotland and what they would go back to see or feel shouldn't be missed in a trip. I'm also curious about driving on the left, as I am hesitant to do that.

Old Jul 9th, 1999, 08:51 AM
Nancy

Sheila,

I spent several hours last night reading your previous posts and the detail you went into. I am not a 'city' type person and would like to get out into the more out of the way places. As an example, I was in Belgium last fall and the place I liked the best *next to Brugges* was Bokrijk.

From what I read last night, the western part of the country might be the place to visit. But since I'll be there in November, I wonder if the weather will be so bad so that the ferries won't run. I'm not a hiker, etc. but do like wildlife/nature. My partner is very big on William Wallace and know that we will have to visit Stirling at a minimum.

Old Jul 9th, 1999, 11:50 AM
Sheila

Nancy