Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > Europe
Reload this Page >

Safe/Easy way to take US dollars to Spain

Apr 28th, 2005, 01:22 PM
Original Poster

Most of the time when I travel, I take some US dollars to exchange, some to have, two credit cards (one for ATMs and one for purchases), and some travelers cheques. I have never used the Euro. Unfortunately, I have only traveled to countries where the dollar was worth more. I heard travelers cheques are not accepted everywhere and credit cards are. Any suggestions on HOW to take my money. I will have alot since I will be there for 3 weeks. Probably a stupid question, but it's my first time... be easy.
Apr 28th, 2005, 01:30 PM

I usually bring a minimum of 2 credit cards, an ATM card, and a couple of hundred in USD to exchange only as a backup. I don't bring travelers checks (too difficult to use and poor exchange) or local currency unless I happen to have left over currency from a previous trip. Others prefer to bring a small amount of starter currency. Do whatever makes you comfortable. I use credit cards for larger expenses and get cash from an ATM for smaller daily expenses on an as needed basis. I prefer not to carry too much with me at any given time.
Apr 28th, 2005, 01:31 PM
ira

Hi au,

>Most of the time when I travel, I take some US dollars.... to have, two credit cards (one for ATMs and one for purchases), and some travelers cheques.<

Good idea.

Some people like to exchange about $100 at the departure airport to have cash upon arrival, others go directly to the ATM.

You only need TCs (in dollars) as emergency backup.

Charge what you can, use ATMs when you need cash.

>I have never used the Euro.<

You will find that it is easier to use in Europe than the dollar.

Enjoy your visit.

Apr 28th, 2005, 01:32 PM
P_M